DFIC finance support for major IPP PV-parks in Zambia

Client

Listed solar energy company in south Germany

Background

The Zambian market for renewable energies and related services is still developing. Even though the political will to increase the use and expansion of renewables does exist, there is no clear line in the national implementation strategy.

The prevailing energy crisis in Zambia, with electricity being switched off for up to 16 hours a day, is currently leading to increased demand for decentralised, renewable energy plants for own consumption. However, legal regulations for renewable energies are only weakly developed and there are hardly any support mechanisms.
Financing of renewable energy projects in Zambia represents a great challenge, not only because of a relatively weak local capital market and regulatory framework, but also because of the volatile currency. This applies all the more to financing solar parks of utility scale.

Objective

Against this background, DFIC was commissioned as a specialist consultant to support the exploration of possible financing options for larger (utility scale) IPP ground mounted PV parks. This concerned private and especially public financing options.

Results

One focus area of DFIC's services was the identification of suitable local and international investors for equity investments as well as for the granting of loans. In particular, DFIC pre-examined and evaluated investment portfolios and investment strategies of public, private and hybrid (public-private) funds with regard to their suitability for the planned projects.

In addition, Zambia-specific screening of suitable financing offers of public development banks and their specialised private sector departments was carried out. The Zamia-specific screening focused on project finance, corporate finance or mixed financing options (e.g. for newly established SPVs) to finance larger open space PV parks as Independent Power Producer (IPP) projects with up to 10 megawatts of generation capacity.

We are happy to also support you in the development and implementation of your investment projects in international markets. A description of our services in this area can be found in the Financing & Funds section.

Of course, we are also personally at your disposal to tailor our services specifically to your needs.
Please do not hesitate to contact us for further information.

Dr. Jörg-W. Fromme Contact

Olaf Mecke Contact

© DFIC 2018 Privacy Policy | Imprint

Cookies make it easier for us to provide you with our services. With the usage of our services you permit us to use cookies.
More information Ok

DFIC Finanzierungssupport für größere IPP Freiflächen-PV-Parks in Sambia

Kunde

Börsennotiertes Solar-Unternehmen aus Süddeutschland

Hintergrund

Der sambische Markt für erneuerbare Energien und diesbezüglicher Dienstleistungen befindet sich noch in der Entwicklungsphase. Der politische Wille zur verstärkten Nutzung und dem Ausbau der Erneuerbaren ist vorhanden, jedoch fehlt es an einer klaren Linie in der nationalen Umsetzungsstrategie. 

Eine akute Energiekrise in Sambia mit Stromabschaltung von bis zu 16 Stunden pro Tag führt aktuell zu einem verstärkten Interesse an dezentralen, erneuerbaren Energien-Anlagen zum Stromeigenverbrauch. Die gesetzlichen Regeln für erneuerbare Energien sind jedoch schwach entwickelt und Fördermechanismen kaum vorhanden.

Finanzierungen stellen in Sambia nicht nur aufgrund eines relativ schwachen lokalen Kapitalmarktes und regulativen Rahmens, sondern insbesondere auch aufgrund der volatilen Währung eine besondere Herausforderung für erneuerbaren Energien-Projekte dar. Dies gilt umso mehr für die Finanzierung von Solarparks im zweistelligen Megawatt-Bereich. 

Ziele

Vor diesem Hintergrund wurde DFIC als spezialisiertes Beratungsunternehmen zur Unterstützung bei der Sondierung von möglichen Finanzierungsoptionen für größere (utility scale) IPP-Freiflächen PV-Parks beauftragt. Dies betrifft öffentliche und private Finanzierungsquellen.

Ergebnisse

Einen Schwerpunkt der DFIC Leistung stellte hierbei die Identifikation geeigneter lokaler und internationaler Investoren sowohl auf der  Eigenkapital- als auch Fremdkapitalseite dar. Insbesondere stand die vorab-Prüfung und Bewertung von Investmentportfolios und -strategien von öffentlichen, privaten und hybriden (public-private) Fonds hinsichtlich Ihrer Eignung für die konkret geplanten Investitionsvorhaben im Fokus.

Darüber hinaus erfolgte ein Sambia-spezifisches Screening von geeigneten Finanzierungsangeboten seitens öffentlicher Förderbanken und Ihren spezialisierten Privatsektorabteilungen für die Bereiche Projektfinanzierungen, Unternehmensfinanzierung oder auch Mischformen (z.B. für neu zu gründende SPVs) zur Finanzierung größerer Freiflächen-PV-Parks als Independent Power Producer (IPP)-Projekte mit bis zu 10 Megawatt Erzeugungsleistung. 

Gerne unterstützen wir auch Sie bei der Entwicklung und Umsetzung Ihre Investitionsvorhaben in internationalen Märkten. Unsere diesbezüglichen Leistungen finden Sie unter Link. 

Natürlich stehen wir Ihnen auch persönlich zur Verfügung, um unsere Leistungen spezifisch auf Ihre Bedarfe hin auszurichten.

Kontaktieren Sie dazu unsere Ansprechpartner Finanzierungsberatung

Dr. Jörg-W. Fromme Kontakt

Olaf Mecke Kontakt

 

Cookies erleichtern die Bereitstellung unserer Dienste. Mit der Nutzung unserer Dienste erklären Sie sich damit einverstanden, dass wir Cookies verwenden.
Weitere Informationen Ok